How to Delete a Facebook Account Permanently

Facebook is the largest social networking website in the world, with over 2 billion monthly active users, and has one of the most active communities on the Internet. But over the years, Facebook has become filled with too much noise, with clickbait articles, memes, ads, and posts from pages you liked long ago filling up your news feed, instead of updates from your friends and family, who are likely more active on Instagram, Snapchat and their ilk. If you are jaded with your Facebook experience so far, you might consider deleting your Facebook account. But if you are wondering how to delete your Facebook account, it isn’t too easy, as the company doesn’t keep this option front and centre for the users. In fact, even going through the settings won’t help delete your Facebook account, though you can deactivate it. If you want to go through with the process, here’s what you need to know.

How to delete Facebook account permanently

  • To delete your Facebook account permanently, you need to go to the Help Centre and click on Deactivating or Deleting Your Account
  • On this page, click on the hyperlinked phrase Let Us Know at the end of the first paragraph (you may have to search for it, as it can be missed rather easily)
  • In the new tab that opens, tap on the Delete My Account button in the middle of the screen
  • Next, a dialogue box asking you to enter your password and captcha code will appear on the screen. Click Okay and then click Okay again in a second pop-up to delete your Facebook permanently
  • Deleting a Facebook account can take up to 90 days, the company says


    If you log into your account anytime in the next 14 days, your account will be reactivated and all the data will be intact — nothing more is needed, so be careful about any links you click on. However, if you abstain for those two weeks, the company will start deleting most of your data from its platform, such as photos and status updates. The whole process of deleting your information can take up to 90 days, Facebook says. However, Messenger conversations will not be deleted, though your name will not appear against them anymore. You can even save all your data stored with Facebook before deleting your account permanently.

    How to Use Facebook Messenger Without a Facebook Account

    Alternatively, you can choose to deactivate your account as a means of temporary digital detox. For that, just go to the Facebook security settings page on the desktop, and if you are on a mobile device follow this – Settings > Account Settings > Manage Account > Deactivate. Once you reach the Deactivate option, you will be asked to enter your password and the following page will ask you give a reason for this step.

    After you fill in the reason, you can tap on the Deactivate button to follow through. If you choose the ‘This is temporary…’ option, Facebook will automatically reactivate your account after the specified period (maximum seven days).